The Sargent County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. with the following members present: Bill Anderson, Mike Walstead, Steve Wyum and Jerry Waswick. Absent none.

Board members reviewed the list of names submitted as candidates for consideration to the county commission seat due to the vacancy created by the death of Commissioner Ray Brockman. States Attorney Lyle Bopp informed the Board that Judge Ronald Goodman recused himself from serving as a member on the commission, due to a possible conflict. Motion to appoint Judge Richard Grosz to replace Judge Goodman for the purpose of selecting a replacement. (Anderson/Waswick, unanimous) Mr. Bopp announced Judge Grosz is available to meet on Tuesday, November 8 at 7:00 p.m.

Norm Preble, Tax Director, met with the Board to explain an application for abatement of taxes from Roger and Kenneth Gibbon for Lots 1-4, less northwest 10 feet of Lot 1, Block 16, Original Addition, Milnor City for 2004 and 2005 (#25-7397000). The city approved this property for 5 years of property tax exemption on the structure at 100% on June 7, 2004 and the structure was left on the taxes in error. Milnor City approved removal of the structure from taxation. Concur with the city and approve the abatement. (Anderson/Wyum, unanimous) Norm Preble and the Board discussed the appraisals for property forfeited to the county for delinquent taxes. Approve list and instruct the County Auditor to post at the front door of the Courthouse. (Anderson/Waswick, unanimous). The public auction for the property is scheduled at the Office of the County Auditor on Tuesday, November 15, 2005 beginning at 1:00 p.m. Instruct County Auditor not to proceed with foreclosure proceedings on the following properties: Lots, 3-4, Block 10, Original Addition, Cogswell City and a parcel 150' west and 200' north of the southeast corner of NE1/4-2-130-57 (350'x150') (Waswick/Anderson, unanimous)

Approve following voting precincts for the upcoming 2006 elections:

PRECINCT # 1: Milnor City, Hall Township, Herman Township, Milnor Township and Shuman Township.

PRECINCT # 2: Gwinner City, Whitestone Hill Township and Willey Township.

PRECINCT # 3: Cogswell City, Brampton Township, Denver Township, Harlem Township, Jackson Township, Sargent Township, Southwest Township, Verner Township and Vivian Township.

PRECINCT # 4: Forman City, Havana City, Bowen Township, Dunbar Township, Forman Township, Rutland Township, Taylor Township and Weber Township.

PRECINCT # 5: Cayuga City, Rutland City, Kingston Township, Marboe Township, Ransom Township and Tewaukon Township. (Anderson/Waswick, unanimous)

Discussed striping the newly overlayed County Roads No. 4 south of Cogswell and No. 10 north of Rutland. Authorize contractor to proceed with the striping based upon NDDOT's agreement that the roads are eligible for federal aid funding. (Waswick/Wyum, unanimous)

Sparky Engquist, Road Dept. Supervisor met with the Board to discuss holiday pay on November 11.

Approve minutes as corrected. (Wyum/Waswick, unanimous)

Meeting recessed at 2:45 p.m. to Tuesday, November 8 at 7:00 p.m.

On November 8, 2005, at 7:00 o'clock p.m., chairman, Mike Walstead reconvened the meeting of the Sargent County Commissioners for the purpose of filling the vacancy created in the Board of Commissioners with the untimely death of Commissioner Ray Brockman. Present were Bill Anderson, Jerry Waswick, Steve Wyum, and Mike Walstead, county commissioners and Lyle Bopp, States Attorney. Also present and member of the selection committee was Judge Richard W. Grosz, Judge of the District Court, Chambered in Wahpeton, ND. Also present was Chris McFarland. A brief discussion was held regarding the procedure for selecting the new commissioner from the list of applicants. The following individuals had contacted the Sargent County Auditor indicating their interest in the position; Bob Krause, Karen Anderson, Maurice Orn, Dan Jacobson, Lysle Coleman, Jerry Erickson, Chris McFarland, Roger Zetocha.

Discussion was held regarding the qualifications of the eight candidates. Judge Richard W. Grosz then moved to limit the discussion to four candidates, those four candidates being; Bob Krause, Maurice Orn, Chris McFarland and Dan Jacobson, said motion was then seconded by Jerry Waswick, discussion on the limiting the consideration of candidates was held and a unanimous decision was then made to limit the consideration to the above four candidates. Further discussion was held regarding the remaining candidates and after much discussion Commissioner Waswick made a motion to further reduce consideration to the following two candidates; Maurice Orn and Chris McFarland. Said

motion was seconded by Bill Anderson. There being no further discussion, a unanimous vote was held regarding the further limitation of consideration to the two candidates.

Again, after much discussion a roll call vote was called for and a unanimous ballot was cast in favor of Maurice Orn.

After the appointment of Maurice Orn, Commissioner Bill Anderson introduced a resolution thanking all candidates who sought the appointment and acknowledged that each of the candidates were well qualified individuals which made the decision by the Board an extremely difficult choice due to the excellent qualifications of all the applicants. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Steve Wyum and was unanimously approved by all present. The Sargent County State's Attorney was directed to send a letter to each of the candidates where upon the Board thereafter contacted Maurice Orn. After the telephone conversation with Mr. Orn the meeting was adjourned.

MIKE WALSTEAD - CHAIRMAN

ATTEST:

SHERRY HOSFORD – AUDITOR

LYLE R BOPP - ACTING SECRETARY