Forman, North Dakota December 2, 2003

The Sargent County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. with the following members present: Karen Anderson, Don Wehlander, Mike Walstead, and Ray Brockman.

The meeting was called to order by Elaine Anderson, Deputy County Auditor, and the Board proceeded to organize for 2004.

Nominate Steven Wyum for Chairman. (Wehlander/Brockman. Cast an unanimous ballot. Carried).

Nominate Mike Walstead as Vice-Chairman. (Brockman/Anderson. Cast an unanimous ballot. Carried.) Steven Wyum arrived at the meeting at 9:10 a.m. and chaired the meeting.

Following appointments approved: Courthouse Commissioner - Mike Walstead

Police Commissioner – Don Wehlander Fair Board Commissioner – Karen Anderson Road Commissioner – Steven Wyum

Park Board - Quentin Hoistad, Raymon Nelson

Set regular meeting dates for 2004 as the first and third Tuesday of each month beginning at 9:00 a.m. (Brockman/Walstead, carried.)

Authorize County Auditor to pay utility bills and withholding taxes. (Anderson/Walstead, carried).

Authorize County Treasurer to invest county funds. (Wehlander/Anderson, carried).

Approve November 18, 2003, minutes as corrected. (Wehlander/Anderson, carried).

OLD BUSINESS: None.

NEW BUSINESS: Michael, Richard, and Arnold Banish discussed the need for work on approach north of Cayuga by Gaukler's between sections 31-131-53 and 6-130-53. Road Supervisor, Merrill Engquist, joined the meeting and will check on the problem.

Merrill Engquist proceeded to present an update on road projects, updating and purchase of equipment, removal of trees, and other road department concerns.

Norman Preble, Tax Director, discussed the 5-year business exemption application for property tax incentives for new or expanding businesses from Marcia L. Schutt and Judith D. Olson on 27 acres in Sublot 1 of the SE1/4-11-131-54, Shuman Township. A hearing was scheduled for January 6, 2004.

Reappoint William E. Smith, Member-at-Large, and Ronald Narum, Representative of cities of Rutland, Cogswell, Cayuga, and Havana, to the Job Development Authority Board for three year terms. (Brockman/Wehlander, carried).

Sandra Hanson, Emergency Management, requested commission sign an acknowledgement of non-utilization of approved FY02 Supplement Grant and MHMP Grant, and also the request for EMPG allocation of Fiscal Year 2004 in which county receives 50% reimbursement of EM qualifying expenditures.

Steve Wyum reported that the Personnel Board will be meeting quarterly in 2004 instead of monthly.

Sandra Hanson, Forman Township Clerk, discussed township weed mowing and cost-sharing on culverts.

Approve Forman Township request for cost share of a $36" \times 44'$ culvert placed between 33-131-56 and 4-130-56. (Walstead/Wehlander, carried).

Lyle Bopp, State's Attorney, discussed issues concerning ambulance, personnel policy, and other county business.

Travis Paeper, Sheriff, provided input on South East Multi-County Agency task force and discussed department activity.

Meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

ATTEST:	Steven Wyum – Chairman
Elaine D. Anderson - Deputy Auditor	