The Sargent County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 a.m. with the following members present: Bill Smith, Ray Brockman, Donald Wehlander, Karen Anderson and Steve Wyum. Absent none.

Approve November 20 and 27, 2001 minutes as presented. (Smith/Anderson, unanimous)

An application for abatement from William G. Berg on the NE1/4-26-130-54 was received after approval from Ransom Township. Norm Preble arrived at the meeting. Mr. Berg is requesting that the residential assessment be removed because he no longer works off the farm and should be exempt. Concur with township. (Wyum/Brockman, unanimous)

Norm Preble, VSO, reported on a special training session in Bismarck on January 2,3,4, 2002 regarding claim preparation. Approved attendance. Discussed inundated land mailings and procedure for 2002.

Julie Hassebroek, Extension Service, met with the Board to discuss a bill for \$522.00 for a new Pentium IV computer for the support staff station. NDSU will pay  $\frac{1}{2}$  of the cost. There is also funding available for a T-1 line (Internet access) in the conference room from NDSU and would be accessible for anyone using the room. She will check with ISD for further information. Discussed commercial certification for pesticide applications. Connie Gulleson tendered her resignation as Nutrition Education/FNP Agent in Sargent County as of January 4, 2002. Accept Connie's resignation with regret. Julie will contact NDSU to begin the advertising process.

Approve Games of Chance permit No. 04-2001 to St. Mary's Altar Society for a raffle and bingo on February 3 & 17, 2002 and March 3 and 17, 2002 (Storm dates – February 10 & 24 and March 10 & 24, 2002) (Anderson/Brockman, unanimous)

The terms of membership on the Southeast Human Service Center Regional Council of Ronald Torbenson, Ransom County, joint representative from Ransom and Sargent County and Teresa Brummond, Sargent County will expire on December 31, 2001. The terms of office shall be two years. Reappoint Teresa Brummond. (Wyum/Anderson, unanimous)

Effective April 1, 2002, accept the MAXIMUS job classification and salary schedule for Sargent County regular and part-time employees. The schedule is based on 40 point's differential between grade, 10 steps per grade, and 2.5% increment per steps with Step 5 mid-point. The salary schedule shall be at 100% of the MAXIMUS job market comparison level survey as of July 2001, and increased to allow for 3% COLA adjustment. Any employee's pay currently below minimum will be adjusted to minimum. Any employee's pay above minimum but between steps on the new pay schedule will be increased to the next step. No employee's pay will be reduced from the current pay. (Wyum/Smith. Yes: Wyum, Brockman, Smith, Anderson and Wehlander. No: none. Motion carried.)

Lyle Bopp arrived at the meeting at 10:45 a.m.

Discussed letters received from the Big Dipper Landfill regarding the landfill permit application and a letter they sent to all the cities and villages that are serviced by Waste Management of ND, Inc. Approve a letter to the cities in response to Big Dipper Enterprises, Inc. notice to withdraw its application for a solid waste management-zoning permit.

The Board discussed the commission district lines and a redistricting plan creating five revised commissioner districts. Karen Anderson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

WHEREAS, the Sargent County Redistricting Board has returned a redistricting plan creating five revised commissioner districts, and

WHEREAS, such redistricting plan would create a situation where the voters of Dunbar, Herman, Kingston, Marboe, Ransom, Rutland and Tewaukon Townships, City of Cayuga, City of Forman and City of Rutland would be left without an elected representative from their district or be unable to run for office of Commissioner for a six year period and,

WHEREAS, the redistricting plan creates one district comprising a large geographic the county and two districts comprising a comparably smaller geographic area of area, and

WHEREAS, a combination of districts would create a more equitable demographic and

geographic balance, and promote fairness in the election process, THEREFORE, be it resolved, pursuant to NDCC 11-07-03.1 the Board of Sargent County Commissioners have chosen to combine Commissioner Districts Nos. 3,4, & 5 into a combined district with three (3) commissioners to be elected representing that combined district and to further combine District Nos. 1 & 2 with two (2) commissioners to be elected representing that combined district.

FURTHERMORE, each commissioner elected must reside within the combined district from which they are elected and all commissioners shall be elected at large from the electors of Sargent County. The result of this resolution does not eliminate the number of commissioner districts.

Donald Wehlander vacated the chair to second the resolution. Discussion followed. Vice-Chairman Ray Brockman called the question. (Voting yes: Anderson, Wyum, Wehlander, Brockman, and Smith. Voting No: None. Motion carried)

Meeting recessed at 12:45 p.m. to Thursday, December 6, 2001 at 8:30 a.m.

DONALD	WEHLANDER	_	CHAIRMAN	

ATTEST:

SHERRY HOSFORD - AUDITOR