Forman, North Dakota August 2, 2016

The Sargent County Park Board held a Special Meeting at 9:00 p.m. in the Commissioner's Room of the Sargent County Courthouse with the following present: James Peterson, Gordon Phillips, Sherry Hosford, Jerry Waswick, David Jacobson, Mike Walstead, and Bill Anderson. Also present: Dennis Goltz, Park Manager; Russ Boutain and Nancy Planteen, county residents & seasonal site renter; and Pam Maloney, Sargent County Auditor.

Chairman James Peterson called the meeting to order.

Lyle Bopp, State's Attorney, arrived at the meeting.

The purpose of the special meeting is to act on the tabled motions from July 19, 2016, which are: Motion to accept Dennis Goltz's resignation effective July 29<sup>th</sup>, 2016 and to instruct the secretary to advertise the open position in the official newspaper for the next two weeks. (Hosford/Jacobson) Motion to amend the motion to accept Dennis Goltz's resignation effective July 29<sup>th</sup>, 2016, but to wait until next spring to advertise and hire a new manager. (Anderson/Phillips) The motion was tabled at the July 19<sup>th</sup> meeting, as we believed if it was a tie vote, it had to be tabled until the next meeting to vote again with a full board present. According to Mr. Bopp, the motion to amend had failed, if it was a tie vote. After further research in the NDCC 11-11-07, it was determined that it is only the county commission that must defer the vote until the next meeting. The statute does not apply to other county boards. Therefore, the motion to amend had failed at the last meeting. Motion to amend the original motion to accept Dennis Goltz's resignation effective October 15, 2016 (not July 29<sup>th</sup>, 2016) and to instruct the secretary to advertise the open position in the official newspaper for the next two weeks. (Anderson/Phillips) Roll Call Vote: Yes – Phillips, Walstead, Anderson and Waswick. No – Jacobson, Hosford and Peterson. No – Jacobson & Hosford. Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 9:40 a.m. (Phillips/Waswick, unanimous)

JAMES PETERSON – CHAIRMAN

ATTEST:

PAM MALONEY - SECRETARY