Dickey-Sargent Joint Water Resource
Board Special Meeting
Video Conference
Originating at the Sargent County Courthouse
Forman, North Dakota
January 16th, 2025 – 8:00 a.m.

In attendance at the Sargent County Courthouse, Forman, ND, on January 16th, 2025 at 8:00 a.m. was Chairman Steve Hansen and Manager Justin Gemar of the Dickey County Water Resource Board. Sargent County Water Resource board members in attendance were Lucas Siemieniewski, Roger Zetocha, Todd Stein, and Michael Wyum. Also present at the courthouse were Wendy Willprecht Secretary-Treasurer, Nathan Trosen of Moore Engineering, Commissioner Lyle Bopp and Richard Rush. Others present via video conferencing were: Manager Bruce Speich, Katie Schmidt and Stephen Hilfer of Ohnstad Twichell, and landowner Leon Mallberg.

At 8:00 a.m. Chairman Hansen called the meeting to order.

BILLS:

The following bills were presented for approval and payment:

1. Bills:

DVEC – electricity –

\$ 141.00

A motion was made by Manager Wyum and seconded by Manager Zetocha to approve the bill. Upon roll call, the motion carried unanimously.

MINUTES:

A motion was made by Manager Zetocha and seconded by Manager Siemieniewski to approve the November 21st, 2024, meeting minutes. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

JACKSON DRAIN MAINTENANCE:

Chairman Hansen said that the pumps had not been running since October 2024. The electric bills we receive is just for the service received for the pumps.

Joint Powers Agreement Dickey-Sargent:

The Department of Water Resources has requested the Dickey-Sargent Joint Board review its joint powers agreement. There are discussions that are expected to be had in the upcoming legislative session that will pertain to joint boards handling of applications that include land in adjoining counties. The board decided to wait until the legislature meets and will then follow the directives of what is accepted at the state level when handling issues such as this.

NEW BUSINESS:

Elections:

Manager Zetocha made a motion to reelect Steve Hansen as the joint board chairman. With no other nominations, roll call was taken and Hansen was reelected unanimously.

Manager Siemieniewski made a motion to reelect John Quandt as the joint board vice-chairman. With no other nominations, roll call was taken and Quandt was reelected unanimously.

2025 Engineering Services and Legal Services:

Discussion was had regarding an increase in rates in 2025. Manager Stein made a motion to accept the rate increases for both Moore Engineering and Ohnstad Twichell and to reappoint both Nathan Trosen of Moore Engineering, acting engineer and Sean Fredricks of Ohnstad Twichell, acting attorney. Manager Wyum seconded the motion. Upon roll call, the motion carried unanimously.

Hansen said that there is a meeting on January 27th, 2025, to talk about ditch spraying, utilizing a drone for the Lovell project. A proposal will be presented and reviewed by the Lovell owners.

FINANCIAL REPORT:

The financials	for	November	30 th ,	2024:
----------------	-----	----------	--------------------	-------

DSJWRD-Jackson Improvement Fund \$ 269,957.22

DSJWRD-Jackson Improvement Maintenance Fund \$ 35,656.27

Next meeting will be in March 20th, 2025. The meeting adjourned at 8:12 a.m.

	APPROVED:	
	Steve Hansen-Chairman	
ATTEST:	Steve Hallsen-Chairman	
ATTEST.		
Wendy Willprecht, Secretary-Treasurer		